"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Will You Buy Me Some Drinks Tonight? .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we promise to be your best friend if you do
2003-11-29 @ 4:52 p.m.


You know what, my peeps -- I really try to look on the bright side of things. I honestly do, and mostly it works ... but the fact of the matter is, when things just aren't going the way you'd like, and you're convincing yourself of how that's a Good Thing -- well, it still sucks just a little bit.

So what's got my panties in a bunch at this particular moment? Well I'm glad you asked that. I will tell you.

Because I'm generally pretty shitty with money in the first place, and because I was only really starting to get my finances in order again (after my fun year o' depression) when I broke my ankle, and because during that first month of wonderful brokenness I said to myself, "Fuck it. I'll pay bills when I can fucking walk..." (Yes, I know. Very mature of me.)

Anyhow, for all these reasons and more, as it turns out over this wonderful holiday weekend, my main checking account is overdrafted, a second one just decided they won't let me spend more (that's really pretty irritating -- "Here's how much money you have ... no, you can't have any of it."), and my last one (is it weird to have three checking accounts?) simply won't let me use my debit card. Honestly, that's the most irritating one, because this particular bank (I won't name them, but their initials are TCF) has my entire student loan sum for this semester ... and, for some reason, they rejected the first pin I chose, and still have not activated the new one I picked.

You know, this is part of why I was irritated at my friend the other day -- first, after he was so tired, I got him to come back out again when I remembered I had credit cards. Then, when the place he chose only took cash, he was going to leave again ... so, I wrote him a check, and he hung out the rest of the night.

And it's not like he couldn't have afforded it. Hell, he offered to loan me some money later that night, when I was complaining about all this. That was very nice of him, but what's with not being able to spot me for a night of drinking? Hm? Like I really wasn't going to pay him back? Jerk.

Anyway, after that I was telling myself it's good I don't have cash on hand, because I have crap to do, and if I could go out and have fun I wouldn't getr most of it done. And really, that one's pretty true.

But I'm sorry, imposed responsibleness is just a pain in the ass. I was good last night. But this is a holiday weekend for chrissakes -- I wanna go out and drink!

So the question becomes -- who wants to help me in my cause tonight? C'mon. I promise I'm a really fun drunk. And I promise to be eternally grateful. And what's more, I even promise to pay you back. What more could you ask, I ask you?

Alternately, if you don't wanna help me get liquored up, I'd also accept someone smoking me up. Actually, that might be better, but in my experience buying someone drinks all night is preferable to letting them smoke up all your ganj.

At any rate, the question is -- why can't I have a good time tonight? Hm? Have I really been such a bad monkey that I deserve this?

Bleah. One of my friends is calling again. Mebbe I can convince him to be my benefactor tonight. Who knows.

Ah, I have always depended on the kindness of strangers...

Happy Saturday night, my homies.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .