"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . How Embarrassing .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we suppose it could be worse
2006-06-26 @ 10:41 p.m.


Well first of all, early this morning I found out my subscription to that addictive computer game had expired. Wah. Actually, I suppose I would be more upset except 1) I don't really have time to be playing it anyway, and 2) It's not really that the game account expired, it's that it's revolving monthly payment could not be met -- because that particular checking account has been in negative numbers since the beginning of the month.

But far, far worse than the game thing? I returned from my internship training tonight to find that my home phone has been disconnected. How I can possibly be online in this case is a true mystery -- it's true, I have DSL, but it's also true that the phone company provides that service. I mean, it's even the same bill as the phone.

But anyway: How horribly embarrassing. I mean, I first found out because on the way home I checked my cell phone -- which I'm sure is scheduled to be cancelled too -- and a friend who wanted to hang out said they called the cell because the other was shut down. Another friend emailed me a message, in which he happened to mention the phone line has a message saying it's disconnected.

How mortifying. What do you tell people?

Okay, actually I'm just gonna tell them I've been juggling bills, and been incredibly busy, so it just got away from me -- which is the truth. But still. That's embarrassing. I'm 33 years old, not 19 and newly moved out on my own. And for that matter, my phone never got shut off when I was 19 and new out on my own, either.

My phone's never been shut off ever, now that I'm on the subject. You know, seriously -- I'm experiencing some depths of poverty here that are altogether new for me.

Well, hopefully I can pay them enough to turn the phone back on tomorrow. And, hopefully they won't come take my car before I have a chance to pay the next measly payment. Should these things come to pass, I will make it through the week, at the end of which I will have more money. I mean, I'll have to use most of it to pay the rent, but not all of it. So maybe I can pay some to some crucial stuff, and be able to eat for the next couple weeks.

Hm. Meanwhile, I'm supposed to call some girl back tomorrow to maybe hangout for maybe romantic possibilities. How truly sad would it be, if I'm unable to call her because both of my phones have been shut off?

Now that would be embarrassing.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .