"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . My Infected Ear .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we really find that kinda gross
2004-11-28 @ 10:10 a.m.


Ick, Ick, Ick...

Okay, now that I don't work at the club of my discontent anymore, I can point out something that's been bugging me lately -- I think, though I knew it already, if I thought about it enough to explain it when it was still going on, it pretty much would have freaked me right the fuck out and made me run screaming from the place. Which, in a very nondirect way, is sort of what happened anway. But I digress...

The security team has these radios, with little mics you clip to your shirt somewhere, and these ear buds you tuck into your ear. Well, intuitive and obvious though this may seem to some of you, I'm gonna say it anyway: If you ever have to work in such a situation, invest in some antibacterial/disinfectant/this-will-kill-anything-smaller-than-a-human-child kind of wipes, and go about a rigorous cleaning every time you go to work. That, or you find yourself in infected-ear-ville, like a certain someone we could mention who lacked such fantastic foresight.

Maybe a couple of months ago, I had some kind of weird thing happen with my left ear, like it kept getting clogged up like there was water or something in it, only there wasn't. So you know, going half-deaf in one ear is always good. So I do all the home disinfecting stuff, you know -- pouring junk into my ear to kill whatever weird foreign bacteria had gotten in (FYI, never had a freaking ear infection in my life before that. Bastards.) and pretty much that works out. Or, at least enough to make me quit thinking about it.

Well, this past week on like Thursday, I'm noticing that my left ear once again hurts like a sonafabitch if I touch it. And it was at this point that I really thought some kind of way of disinfectig the fucking ear buds was just an unavoidable necessity if I intended to continue this job ... um, guess the disinfecting wasn't such a necessity after all, huh?

Heh.

But really, that's just not sanitary. If they're gonna require people to share these things, really for the sake of public health they should consider the sharing of germs and such, too. I mean, the fucked up thing about it is that there could have been one guy way back when the place first opened who had some icky shit going on inside his ear, and today it's still being randomly passed around from one security guy to another because no control of the ickiness was ever put in place. I mean, it's not like you could ever see that someone's ear was infected.

FWIW tho, in the file of I'm not okay with the idea of being the personal typhoid mary of any given population, I will point out that I was not actually sticking the ear bud into my infected ear when it actually was infected. For one, like I said, I couldn't really hear so good out of that ear anyways. In addition that ear becomes tender, so sticking stuff in it just seems like a bad idea. So really -- we do kinda have to wonder how all this spread anyway.

Is it too much to assume that someone with an ear infection would not use communal earpieces? Well, apparently.

Anyways -- yeah, I'm no longer a security dude, for the time being I'm once again just an unemployed dude. Really, amazing how much of my life I've been unemployed for, the last several years. Well, amazing that I've somehow kept afloat while being so unemployed, I should say...

As far as the other stuff from my fucked up previous night, I guess CG and I are cool. We actually spent most of last night talking, and though there were a few moments of explain/apologize for the night before, for the most part it was just a good converation. I'll tell you, it's odd but nice to be around someone who can observe (or even be the target of) some of your more weird behavior, and still think you're a highly unusually cool individual, regardless.

Man, dig my tricked-out diction, huh?

But yeah, as of Sunday morning, my most upset from the fucked up Friday night is that my nice new car has a fucked up dent in it. I mean, it's not even particularly a huge or disfiguring dent, but it's a dent, which I did not have before. And you know, it seems like dented metal rusts quicker than undented, from what I've seen. So that sucks.

But really, I suppose I can only take that as a lesson of life. If you have a profession that makes you somehow think that having many shots and mixed drinks before going in to work makes sense, you really should just change your job. If you don't, you will fuck up your car.

And that's all I have to say about that.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .