"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Kinda Sux, Really .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we do not appreciate the temptation
2004-03-14 @ 3:21 a.m.


Well, another glorious night at the club of my discontent -- man, the place is just crazy on weekends. Really, not the place I'd normally hang out not only because of all the see-and-be-seen types, but because being immersed in a press of bodies for hours on end doesn't really seem like much fun. You know, when a place is so packed that getting to the bar to get a drink is something to prepare yourself for?

I was somewhat fortunate tonight, in that I mostly got to avoid that aspect until later. No, that's not the part I meant to bitch about at this particular moment. I've something much more near and dear to my heart to complain about just now.

I have said that there are plenty of hot women in this place, and it's true. I mean, from your model types to your stripper types to your girl next door, alternative, hip-hop, you name it -- just plenty of cute girls. No, not so much like everyone is gorgeous -- more like, I'd say that most anyone could go there and be assured to see at least several people that (at least, in appearance) are absolutely breathtaking.

And herein lies my problem. I've gotten a million smiles, coy glances, flirtatious conversations ... I was kissed (just a peck) three times tonight. So are you seeing what the problem is yet?

I'm there to work, not mack on the ladies. But wow, there really have been a couple of people I'd really rather have had the opportunity to talk to more. You know, actually sit down with them and have a whole conversation -- hey, maybe even enough that I'll definitely remember talking to them the next time I see them. 'Cause I've already had several people come up to me all, "Hey! Remember us! We talked about blah blah blah..." And, as I'm a polite person, I try my damndest to remember. Problem is, I talk to so many people in a night that if I only spoke to you briefly I probably won't remember the particulars of your appearance, until you remind me.

There's a lady I was talking to tonight who actually spent quite a bit of time just hanging out where I was ... and you know how you can feel that vibe, in the eyes, when there's a mutual attraction? Definitely there. But no, I can't follow her whenever she decides to go back to her friends. Neither can I, really, ask for her number or anything. I mean, I suppose technically I could -- but, I think that as security there my job is to be both helpful and harmless to the non-trouble-causing customer. You know, serve and protect, that sort of thing? And somehow, macking when you're working security seems a little bit ... hm, amoral or something. I don't know.

Hey, if you're a chick I'd actually love your input on this one. If you go to a club and flirt with a bouncer, is it simply assumed that it's just harmless fun, and that there's definitely nothing behind it? Or might you actually be interested in a security person, if it was the right person?

I was in a club once, very much not my kind of place, just -- you know, very meat market. Young pretty women in completely slutty attire, and mostly sad middle aged men drooling over them. Okay, some sad young men, too. Anyway, definitely not my vibe. But since I was supposed to be meeting friends there, I hung out, and ended up spending my time doing what? Talking to and eventually flirting with a cute girl who was actually working security. It was kind of funny, because with all the hairspray and exposed flesh and such around, it was almost kinda like the other guys didn't realize that here's a very pretty girl, pretty much standing there looking bored. (Btw, I did ask if I was bothering her, and told her I'd move on when/if she wanted me to. But she actually left to do some things a couple of times and came back, so I think she enjoyed the conversation, too.)

I tell this little anecdote only because I would pretty easily have been interested in at least getting some coffee with her or something, and she was just working. Is it different for guys than girls, tho?

Meh, it's pretty frickin late, and even I'm having a bit of trouble caring anymore just now. But it is a question I need to resolve. I mean, suppose I meet the most amazing person while I'm working?

Hm. Okay, how about this. Harmless enough to just ask, "Can I see you again?" Right? And I mean, only that if you've had several conversations and both flirted pretty freely. 'Cause I'm thinking, even for a girl who may not be the quickest thinker in the world, this would be a question one could easily enough respond to by saying, "I'll be back (to the club)." At which point I'd be happy to take my somewhat subtle "no" and ... well, I guess just look forward to seeing her the next time she's there...

So not used to being "on" for hours at a time anymore.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .