"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . My Damage .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we figure out what's bugging us
2003-11-01 @ 9:55 p.m.


Well, seeing as this is the first year of my journaling online, there's no reason any of you should know that my rather blase attitude about Halloween this year is actually quite atypical. Not that I usually have much of a costume, but I do quite sincerely hold All Hallow's Eve right up there with New Year's as far as night night when one must make every effort to get out and boogie down.

Okay, clealy I'm not the kind of guy who would literally "boogie". But you get my point.

So Yeah, I've kinda been chilling at home, watching movies and writing and such, taking it all mellow -- and it did occur to me that it was strange, how I had no desire to get out and par-tay.

And, insightful future-therapist that I am, I got the gist of my problem in a sudden flash.

Get it: I was told that I could "begin putting weight" on my ankle three weeks ago. One week ago, I was told I should begin weening myself off crutches. As of approximately -- um, now I'm supposed to start walking with just the aircast, no crutches at all -- maybe just one for a few more days, if necessary.

The problem, of course, is that I couldn't really walk at all without crutches right now, cast or no cast. Sure, I can put weight on that foot, but nowhere near reliably enough to use. Not to mention that pain still has some things to say on the matter.

I can, if need be, get around on one crutch, with the cast. But not very well, honestly. I think my movement would regress to be about as awkward and painful as it was when I first broke my ankle, should I rely on just the single crutch.

So in short: I'm brooding, because I feel like I'm not healing fast enough. I've felt like a benched player the whole time I've been broken anyway, and having been told I could expect to be walking again now, when I don't seem to be able to ... just bothers me, it does.

For instance, my Halloween costume idea would have incorporated the cast and crutches -- except they wouldn't be a part of a costume, because I really still need them.

So not only am I irritated that I'm not quite healed up, I'm also irritated that I have to keep in mind that this isn't one of those situations where I should just keep pushing anyway -- I want the shortest path to being fully functional again, and if I seem to be like a week or two behind the healing curve, pretending I'm not won't help it.

Damn it. I knew I should have started getting more calcium.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .