"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . A Bit Of Melancholy .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we recall why we are here
2003-10-20 @ 2:42 p.m.


So perhaps this'll all seem rather obvious to those in the know, but I think I've just actually realized what might motivate someone to write prolifically in an online diary. Or in the least, what has motivated me.

It's about silencing all the disparate voices in your head, isn't it? Or to be more precise, about giving them a forum wherein they can go ahead and speak their peace, and quit yammering on about it inside your skull. And hopefull, thereafter, you should be left with silence enough in your mind to think on what you would like, rather than feeling crowded by all the random strings of thought that beg you to follow them.

But of course, there would be certain special qualities to those voices which must be released into the cybernetic ether. After all -- if you could just as easily tell a person as type it out, shouldn't that seem just a tad bit easier?

Ah, but while our minds may well think of a million varieties of thoughts, truthfully only some of those are appropriate topics of conversation for our daily life. For instance, the fact that for me the psyschological impact of breaking a bone has definitely been harder and will probably be more long-lasting than the physical impact. Sure, I could attempt to express that thought to those around me ... but really, talking to someone tends to lend itself rather nice to that person actually talking back. And unless you are simply going to not listen to anything they're saying -- now the purity, if you will, of your original thought is compromised.

For instance, amongst the sex oriented journals I've seen on d-land (um -- doing research?), I've noticed several that are essentially about the joys and pains of having an affair while married. As far as that goes, we might really say any sort of sex journal at all is the epitome of what I'm talking about. Whether real-life recollections or works of fiction -- would we get to express these thoughts to anyone in a face to face conversation? Again, in such a way that their reaction does not taint the story itself?

Taint. I'm not really sure what I mean by that, but I'm sure I mean it.

So I hear you out there saying, "C'mon strange, get to the point already, I've got a microwave burrito to nuke, and this show's gonna be a rerun but I want to watch it anyway!"

Well, I guess that my point would be... that for myself, this online stream of thought is a lovesong to myself ... a monument to ego, a place wherein I need not be silent even if I'd rather not speak to anyone else. So all the thoughts that would normally scream themselves hoarse only to eventually be forgotten in the endless ebb and flow of time may now feel as if they've had their chance to be heard.

Or to put it in the words of someone who has expressed something similar far more eloquently -- taken all in all, this should be a record that states, "so darlin i just wanna say, just in case i don't come thru ... i was on to every play. i just wanted you..."

Know what I mean?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .