"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . The Short Story .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we are uncharacteristically brief
2004-01-27 @ 9:19 p.m.


Okay, since even I'm not particularly concerned with the details, the condensed version of why I met a girl the other night who I'd made out with once in a bar and had not seen since.

Best Friend, who has been divorced less than a year, seems totally resistant to the idea of meeting anyone new, but once when out with another friend meets these two girls. He tells me about them 'cuz he liked em, and also because he knew they liked him. At some point we run into them again, and the sparks are still there. In fact, seems pretty much that either of them would be happy with either of us, tho they showed definite preferences.

By the end of the night, I'm very drunk and making out with one of them (who is also very drunk) and so with the arrival of some of our other friends I elect that Best Friend should take them home. He does, nothing happens. He stays in contact, and still nothing. I felt bad for not having gotten a number, I asked him for it, I told him to give them mine, yadda yadda. Basically, it seemed like I could have gotten him to shoot me before I'd get him to help me get in contact with them again.

It is now New Year's of 2003. They are saying how boring their night will be because they have no company. They have drinks and X, but no desire to go out. After several minutes of, "Are you insane? Why not?" I tell Best Friend that I'm going out somewhere else, but if he doesn't go and at least hang out with them...

Actually, don't remember what consequence I threatened him with. In any event, didn't work, suddenly he had a girlfriend in a girl he'd spent six months telling me he was not attracted to, and simultaneously he has lost their number. So when I ran into her again the other night, and she's saying to her roomate (who liked me), "If he's such a nice guy, why didn't he ever call me?"

I've said before, I'm really kinda convinced Best Friend is gay. This little incident is just one of many that would seem inexplicable to me unless he is.

And that's it: Me being my briefest. How'd I do?

Oh, some coolness: Tonight, I went swimming for the first time in almost 20 years. And I actually did okay at it. Yay me! Plus, I discovered that in addition to the pool and hot tub, my gym has a sauna.

Sometimes, kids, life really ain't so bad.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .