"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Welcom To My Lonely .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we are not alone
2005-07-16 @ 1:43 p.m.


Well, the wedding is in only a few hours ... which means, of course, that I have to show up two hours early to stand around and get photographed, as is the custom with such events.

The rehearsal dinner was kind of weird -- as was the bit of drunken revelry that followed with some friends I hadn't really hung with in a while, one of whom is also in the party. It's funny, because in short I think that this couple ended up feeling like I was dissing them or something ... I definitely wasn't trying, but sometimes the vestiges of the shyness/awkwardness that was so native to me when I was younger can create that sort of effect. Basically, I ended up hanging out with others almost exclusively...

But whatever really, because under the circumstances I think my ability to grin my head off at all is something to be applauded. What was rumbling somewhere low in my brain is even more clear to me now: The event of a wedding is this official linking of two people together, and pretty much everybody who is not a child or teenager who comes anywhere near it is expected to be attached in some way themselves.

Really, there's single people and there's coupledom. And this shindig surely is a great basking in the wonderfullness of couplehood. Excepting, of course, for the dork standing right next to the groom. Yah, that poor schmuck is quite obviously on his own...

Just saying, whatever loneliness or whatever that I might normally be feeling is only increased about a zillionfold by my having to attend GBF's wedding as a single ... every person that you meet is part of a pair. So it's really quite fun to be put on show as someone who apparently has no one...

Yeah, fuckin wah. Being the philosopher that I am, I'm able to allow myself to not be too terribly upset with two little mental notes: 1) Except for the part where I won't give a speech when I should, I'll never really be the center of attention -- this is all about their vows and such, so the closest I'll ever be is just off the center. And 2) However much being just off the center might suck, it'll be over in just a few hours regardless. And of course, free booze after that.

Meh, it's hot and the place apparently has no AC. Yes, just paint my plastic smile on all those photos right now.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .